Learning to be Thankful

Today as I was coming back home, a thought just came to me. I should start a blog. Like now. Today!!!!!!! Actually, I’ve been contemplating lately whether or not to start a blog and not even sure what to write. And I’m not sure if I could keep up with blogging. But it’s ok. Let’s start here.

I’ve been annoyed by little things in life lately. They are little things….. No serious issues. But when they seem to happen quite often, I started complaining WHY all these things happening to me? Why me? There is no way to have a thankful heart while complaining. But I was reminded by this verses from 1Thessalonians 5:16-18 “Be joyful always; pray continually; give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.”

How do I give thanks in ALL circumstances?
A couple of weeks ago, I got a phone call from my bank about my credit card fraud. So they cancelled my card and issued a new card for me. While I was annoyed, I was thankful that the bank caught it. But a few days later I received a new card and I needed to use my credit card. But it turned out that my card has been denied. When I called the bank and asked about it, I was told that I won’t be able to use my new card while they are investigating about the fraud. It doesn’t make sense and yes…..I was annoyed. I started thinking how can I be thankful? We’ll, I have some money in my hand. I need to be thankful that I have a job. Not being able to use a credit card is not the end of the world. It’s inconvenient but may be God is teaching me to use money wisely.
Last night, after a very meaningful discussion at my church life group, around 10 o’ clock, I was in Thonglor waiting to get a taxi to get back home. I waited for about 10 minutes but no taxi driver wanted to go to Srinakairn. Then I started walking towards BTS hoping to get a taxi. It was getting late and started praying God for a taxi. No taxi came along and I walked for 20 mintues. A few mintues ago I was talking with my life group praising God; but a few minutes later, I totally forgot about God’s grace and His love, but was complaining because I had to walk and no taxi stopped. In the midst of all I was gently reminded by His Holy Spirit that He is my companion in times of need. I felt God’s presence with me and had no fear whatsoever. Then I started singing “You make me brave” from Bethel music. How awesome is my God to give all his children his Holy Sprit to comfort us when we are restless. I didn’t deserve His patience and love but He gave me anyway. I should be thankful that I am healthy to be able to walk. Finally I got a motorbike to Petburi and from there I got a taxi.

So I learned a few things.When obstacles come my way, instead of asking WHY me, O Lord…… I need to ask WHAT is it that you want me to learn. HOW can I be give thanks in all circumstances. He is my gracious God and having Jesus in my life should be more than enough to give thanks in all circumstance because He is that good.Image

This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Learning to be Thankful

  1. Hi there to every one, the contents existing
    at this site are truly amazing for people knowledge,
    well, keep up the good work fellows.

    Like

Leave a Reply

