Fighting spiritual Alzheimer’s

20140526-204504-74704987.jpg

A few weeks ago, I talked to a very dear friend of mine on Skype. He and his wife are like second parents to me. As we talked, I learned that his wife was diagnosed with Alzheimer’s disease and it’s getting worse everyday. It’s heartbreaking to learn that 90% of her memories are gone and there is no cure for Alzheimer’s.
As I ponder about their situations with sadness and heaviness in my heart, I realize that I also suffer spiritual Alzheimer’s. I keep forgetting God’s faithfulness in my life and I often complain for things I don’t have in my life. I keep comparing my life with others and I get mad at God for not providing my desires.
Psalms 11:5 He remembers his covenant forever. Yes, He does. God never forgets His covenant. It is us who forget God’s provision, grace, mercy ,and faithfulness. The Israelites forgot the faithfulness of God and doubted His goodness. The disciples forgot Jesus is our provider (Matthew 16:9-10). My spiritual eyes are shortsighted that I forget where is my eternal home. My mind can only understand and fathom my immediate needs on earth.
But there is good news. Unlike Alzheimer’s, spiritual Alzheimer’s has a cure. I am not hopeless. I am thankful that God has given the Holy Spirit who reminds me when I forget God’s goodness and faithfulness. He uses other believers to remind He loves me.
Sometimes I am disappointed at myself for my lack of faith. The encouraging thing is that God is not finished with me. He who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus (Philippians 1:6)

This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

