Running my spiritual race

20140709-193955-70795952.jpg

I used to believe that my body wasn’t built as a runner. I didn’t have a stamina to run. But did I even try to run? No! In college, a girl encouraged me to jog but after jogging for 5 minutes, I gave up and said… Running or jogging wasn’t for me. But I secretly admired to those who run and wish I could run also. In the back of my mind, I secretly wished that a miracle would happen and I could run like a deer all of a sudden.

Last year I started getting to know a few women at church who are athletic. Among them, Kristi joined my life group and got to know her better. She is a runner and she has won multiple races. Her body is built like “a runner.” Just hearing her talk about her races made me want to try. In February of 2014, Kristi encouraged me and another friend to run. We were both new so we could join a race together. Then I told her that I would try and hopefully by the end of this year I would be able to join a race. She said I shouldn’t wait until the end of the year. I should try 10K by April or May. Part of me felt like that was unattainable goal, but part of me wanted to run at that instance. Such a mixed feeling. To make a long story short, I did my 11.6k in April. Finishing the race was one of the best accomplishments I had ever done and personally very proud of.

Running is fun when I finish but never easy to begin. I feel like giving up many times while I run and ask myself why am I doing this. I am still very slow compare to other beginners like me. Yet I love it when I finish and want to start all over again next day regardless of how painful it was to run the day before.

Likewise, spiritually, I don’t run towards Jesus willingly. I have all my excuses not to have my quality time with Jesus. Sometimes I have to force myself to read the Bible and pray but as I started my prayer time, by His grace alone, the Holy Spirit comes and makes me see how much I need Jesus in my life. Often time I wonder does God really care or hear what I have to say but yet deep inside of me I believe that He does care and God knows what he is doing. My prayer is that as I continue my journey with Jesus, my prayer would come naturally because He is the author of life.
Father God, please renew my strength.
Isaiah 40:31
31 but those who hope in the LORD will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.
And help me to throw off everything that is hindering me from running towards you.
Hebrew 12:1
1 Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us.

This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

