Amazing Grace

I just got back from China and the whole trip was amazing in so many different ways. It was my second trip to China and I got to experience China in a whole new different level. I want to write about my experience in China but this blog is about how God took care of me and provided me with all I need.
When I bought my air ticket to Kunming, I bought it without thinking. I made my decision within 2 hours. I encountered some problems while I was buying the air ticket so I started thinking what did I just do it? Was it a sign from God that I wasn’t supposed to go this trip. Then the girl I was supposed to go with said she couldn’t join anymore. I started really doubting. I really didn’t want to go to this trip on my own. I prayed God to provide me a travel buddy. In the mean time, I started looking for a package tour. Then I had to apply for Chinese visa and I also prayed that God if it is your will, make it smooth otherwise don’t give me visa. To make it short, I got a visa and praying seriously whether I should go or not. I was scared to death but also wanted to be adventurous. Even the night before I left, I prayed if I overslept, may be I wasn’t supposed to go. Of course I woke up. At the airport, I wondered am I really doing it. So finally I arrived to Kunming airport and at the immigration, the officer looked at my passport and checked for a long time, I prayed I could be told that I wasn’t allowed to come in and it must be a sign from God. But what I received was an assurance from God that He would take care of me. He gave me peace. From that moment on, I knew it would be ok.
Finally the immigration officer from Kunming airport stamped on my passport and signaled me to go, I came outside to and saw a guy waiting for me with the paper with my name. His name is Jason and he is very helpful. He helped me to get a Chinese SIM card and exchanged money. The first day I went around Kunming on my own and went to the green lake based on the direction Jason told me. I found the place after asking for directions like two times. It was indeed a great place to walk around and enjoy the place. It is described as a “Jade in Kunming” and indeed an elegant and beautiful environment.
Next day I went to Stone Forest with the group tour and I didn’t know what to expect. The tour guide didn’t really speak English but he spoke enough English to tell me what time to meet up and what time to leave. By lunch time, I became friends with other people on my tour. Two older couple and their son and another older couple. All of them were very nice and helped me in so many different ways that all I could do was to say thank you God for providing me with these peoples. I prayed God to provide me a travel buddy… Yes, a travel buddy and there I was surrounded by 5 friendly people. Without them I would be lost because the tour guides didn’t speak English and it would be hard to communicate with them. From Kunming, I went to Dali and Lijiang with them. On the day I arrived to Lijiang, I found out that we would be going to different places starting from tomorrow. I was going to Shangri-La on my own and they would still be in Lijiang. One of the older ladies got so worried for me that she even cried and asked around who would be going to Shangri-La. Another family replied they would be going and she asked them to take care of me. This new family has 8 people all together. The older couple, their two daughters and their husbands, and two sons. They helped me with the rest of the trip and allowed me to eat with them. On the last day in Lijiang, they asked two twin brothers to help me on the train to Kunming. The brothers took me to my spot on the train and I thanked them thinking I wouldn’t see them again. But in the morning to my surprise, one of them came to me as the train approached to Kunming. He helped me and we left together. He waited for me until I saw a tour guide who was waiting for me outside the train station.
The only time I found it difficult during the trip that one time three was no one around me to translate and it was the day I got back from Lijiang. My tour operator didn’t give enough information to the tour guide and he left me at the hotel without any information. I literally sat outside the hotel didn’t know where to go or do. I called to the tour operator, but she didn’t pick up the phone. I knew right then that I needed to get my bible out and continuing reading the book of Psalms. My book mark showed I should continue with Psalms 40. “I waited patiently for the Lord; he turned to me and heard my cry.” I could have waited, worried, and got mad at the tour operator. But God didn’t allow me to have that attitude. Instead He told me to trust and surrender. As I read the above scripture, I knew that God was with me and watching over me. Sure enough, the tour operator returned my call and I figured out where to go and it was fine.
During this trip, I got to meet great people who helped me in different ways. I may not see them again but they reminded me that His grace is more than enough for me. I hope and pray that I will continue to seek God to provide me with what I need. May I dwell in the house of the LORD all the days of my life, to gaze on the beauty of the LORD and to seek him in his temple. Psalms 27:4

This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

