When life gives you cucumbers, make cucumber bread.

I will shamefully admit that I didn’t know how to tell the difference between a cucumber and a zucchini if they were no labels.
Lately, I’ve been craving for zucchini bread, so the other day, I went to a super market and looked for zucchini. At that particular section, all the labels were in Thai, which I can’t read, so I relied on Google. Someone wrote that “cucumbers have bumps.” So I chose what I thought was smooth zucchini and although I couldn’t really feel them since they were in a plastic bag, I was 100% sure that they were zucchini. I couldn’t wait to make them and even thought about making zucchini bread that night. But it was around 9 o’clock and as I was looking for healthy zucchini bread recipes on Pinterest, I got distracted as usual. I started pinning and by the time I was done with Pinterest, it was almost 10 o’ clock. So I decided to wait until the morning.

First thing in the morning, I was so excited to make zucchini bread and I thought about blogging about it so i started taking pictures of what I thought were zucchini. I peeled the skin off and that was when I wasn’t sure about my zucchini anymore. I took a bite and hoping they were zucchini. But they were cucumbers in disguise!!!! YAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!!!!!!!!

IMG_3819.JPG

I was so mad at myself and at the same time I embarrassed myself. I am the one who tells people that I like to cook and bake and here I am, I can’t even tell the difference between a zucchini and a cucumber. I failed 😭.But what could I do but laugh at myself and instagramed the picture of my cucumbers and shared it on Facebook.

People started commenting and I was truly comforted that I wasn’t not the only fool. Then someone commented that “Cucumber bread is just not the same.” What?!?!?! ….cucumber bread!!! I never thought about it. At that point, to be honest, I didn’t know what to do with those cucumbers. So I googled and, surprisingly, there were many recipes of cucumber bread. I guess there were other fools like me stuck with cucumbers. They were pretty much the same as zucchini bread recipes; so I decided to stick with my zucchini recipes and use the cucumbers instead. I was very skeptical at first, but curiosity kicked in, and I thought I could afford to waste 2 cups of whole wheat flour and 2 eggs if it turned out completely disgusting.
IMG_3516.JPG

Click here for the original recipe but I changed a little bit.

Here’s my version of recipe.

1 cups of whole-wheat flour

1/2 cups of oat flour (If you don’t have oat flour, just use 11/2 cups of whole-wheat flour; I used them because i don’t know what to do with left over oat flour.)

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg

1/2 teaspoon ground ginger

In a large bowl, whisk together flour, salt, baking powder, cinnamon, nutmeg, and ginger.

2 eggs

1/2 cup of plain yogurt (reduced fat)

1/4 cup of coconut oil

1/4 cup of honey

1 cup of grated cucumber (Someone also wrote about squeezing the water out of cucumbers so I did.)

1/2 cup of walnuts

In a medium bowl, whisk together eggs, yogurt, honey, and coconut oil. Add cucumber and walnuts and whisk until smooth.

Pour liquid mixture onto flour mixture until combined. Prepare a 9×5 inches loaf pan and line with parchment paper. Pour batter into the loaf pan.

Set the oven to 180 C (350 F)  and bake about 50 minutes.

Feedback from 3 friends about my cucumber or zucumber bread : 2 friends said they liked it and one asked for the recipe. Another friend said the bread is just too healthy (aka….not sweet) that she’d put butter and some jam. Personally, I liked it because it’s delicious yet very healthy. I’d make it again either with cucumber or zucchini.

 

IMG_3826-0.JPG
Oh, by the way, I now know the difference between a zucchini and a cucumber. Thanks to my friend Pon who went to Siam Paragon Gourmet market with me to show the differences in the stems of zucchini and cucumber. I’ll have to make zucchini bread one of these days 😜.

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

