Coconut Lime Banana Bread

A few weeks ago, I went to a photo exhibition at City Light Cafe. There were brownies and banana bread for people to sample. I tried brownies and it was good. But I thought there was nothing special about banana bread, but to my surprise, it was unbelievably good. I took another piece and had to restraint myself from eating the whole plate. After all, I was at a photo exhibition.
My friends’ roommate worked at the cafe and she made the banana bread. My friend said they were coconut lime banana bread. I had never heard of that before.
As soon as I got back home, I looked up on Pinterest and of course found this original recipe.
But I didn’t have time to make it until today. Since it is a Thai holiday, I took advantage of it by going to a market first thing in the morning to try making it.
br />
IMG_3600.JPG
Here’s my version
Ingredients
2 1/2 cups of all purpose flour
1/2 tsp of salt
1 1/2 tsp of baking powder
1 tsp of baking soda
1/2 cup of coconut milk
2 eggs
3 ripe bananas
1 cup of young coconut meat
1 tsp of vanilla extract
3 tsp of fresh lime juice
1/4 tsp of lime zest

Directions
Combine the all purpose flour, salt, baking powder, and baking soda.
In a separate bowl, add coconut oil and eggs. Beat in the mashed bananas, coconut milk, vanilla extract, lime juice, and lime zest.
Add the dry ingredients. Mix until combined.
Preheat the oven to 350 F and pour the batter into the prepared loaf pan.
Bake for 45 minutes.

IMG_4066.JPG
I put no sugar when I bake because I usually bake healthy breakfast muffins. For this banana bread, after the bread came out of oven, I poured coconut sugar on top so it looked like coconut sugar glazed coconut banana bread and gave enough sweetness to the bread.

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Coconut Lime Banana Bread

  1. Heidie Makes says:

    sounds delicious!

    Like

Leave a Reply

