Why I run

Today I was reading “The terrible and wonderful reasons of why I run.” by The Oatmeal comics.
It gave me a great laugh and also an inspiration to write this blog post.
Here’s a list of why I run…

#1.
Being able to run used to be my secret dream, and I secretly admired to those who run. In the back of my mind, I wished that a miracle would happen and one day I woke up and could run like a deer all of a sudden. I also realized one day that in order to make “my dream” comes true, I need to wake up and try. That was how I started.

#2.
IMG_4141.JPG
I studied in the US for four years and the college life super-sized me with all those delicious junk food. I’m 5′ 3″ tall (160cm) and in my biggest I was almost 160 lb (72 Kg). It took me about 7 years to lose what I gained (40 pounds) while I was in the US. I still love to eat and I am a foodie; so I need to hit the road to stay in shape.

#3.
Running helps me to become a determined person. I once thought running 10K would have been impossible. When I finished 10K for the first time, it was one of the greatest feelings ever.

IMG_4143.JPG

#4.
This is the favorite part of why I run. Running is spiritual (at least for me). I listen to worship songs as I run and the joy of praise and worship lifts me up when I feel like collapsing. It is a time to surrender my own strength and asking God for His strength. I like meditating Isaiah 40:31 as I run. “But those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.”
Another scripture that encourage me is Hebrews 12:1-2. “Let us run with perseverance the race marked for us. Let us fix our eyes on Jesus.”

#5.
Running is a stress reliever and helps me to get rid of negative energy and helps me to be strong physically and emotionally. I’m a slow runner, but I’m positive that I will finish my first half marathon race that’s coming in three weeks. It might take forever but I will finish it.

This entry was posted in Faith, Self and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

