Holy day

Christmas is just around the corner, and it is supposed to be a season of giving with jolly spirit. But I’ve been having some holiday hassle since the beginning of December. Here are some of mine.

Decorations
When it comes to decoration, I’m not a creative person. To be honest, I don’t really enjoy decorating for Christmas. May be it is because I didn’t grow up in a Christian household. Let’s just say I am not a big fan of Christmas decorations, but sometimes I feel pressured to have some decorations in my classroom. My students wanted to see Christmas decorations in the class as they saw other classes. I did decorate other years for the sake of students but this year, I just put a big star on the door and that was it. No one will see my 32 square meter studio room so I don’t feel obligated to do anything and I usually go back to Yangon anyway to be with my family and they don’t celebrate Christmas.

Presents
I don’t like shopping for Christmas because I don’t know what to give for Christmas presets. I always have a hard time coming up with affordable yet useful presents to give. This year thanks to Pinterest; I made batches of cranberries biscotti and most people told me they liked it.

Traffic
Traffic is always bad in Bangkok no matter what, but it’s getting worse with all these shopping malls having Christmas sales. Sadly, Christmas is becoming too commercialized.

Holiday travel hassles
I had one of the most stressful days of my life today at Suvarnabhumi airport. I got to the airport about 2 hours early and although Suvarnabhumi airport is busy all year round, it took more than an hour to go through security check and immigration. I already waited in line for 40 minutes to go through security check and there was no way I could make it on time if the line was going with this pace. I finally had to ask politely to some people around if I could cut the line. I had to do the same thing with immigration. My training from half marathon were paid off today as I ran after going through immigration to the departure gate. I was not the only one going through the hassle as a lot of people were running like me and the airline staff were holding signs calling for the passengers.

With all the hassles aside, I tried to reflect the real reason behind Christmas. We are celebrating the birth of our Savior Jesus Christ. The word holiday comes from “Holy Day.” In Leviticus 23, God appointed 6 annual holy days for the Israelites. The main purpose of all those holy days for the Israelites was for them to rest and worship God. I believe the same purpose still applies today. We are to rest and worship God on holy days.

I need to remind myself not to get caught up in the Christmas hassles but to remember that it is a holy day as Christians remember the birth of Jesus Christ. Rest and thank God for the greatest gift He has for whoever receives Him. And share the greatest gift with everyone.

This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

