Bread with dried figs

I am a bit of a snob when it comes to bread. Yes, I am Asian but I do love bread as much as I love rice. I am not a big fan of Asian style milk bread so finding good chewy bread is a pure joy for me. Usually I find good bread in the monthly Bangkok Farmers’ Market in K-village. They are a bit expensive but so worth it. During my last visit to the Farmers’ Market, I tried chestnut bread with dried figs and apple which totally took my breadth away! It sure was one of the best bread I’ve ever had. The guy who was selling was very friendly and he kept giving me free sample which I kept eating until I was full. It was 600 baht for 1 kg (one loaf) and I felt it was a bit too much. But it was just too good that I had to buy it.
As soon as I got back home, I looked up on google for a recipe but the problem is I don’t know where to buy chestnut flour in Bangkok. So I looked for a similar recipe and found this recipe.
I made bread with this recipe several times already and absolutely love it. Of course it’s not like chestnut flour bread but this is still really good.

Here’s my version:
2 cups of flour ( One cup of all purpose flour and one cup of whole wheat flour)
½ cup of ground almonds (I actually use any type of nuts I could find in my kitchen and put it in food processor)
½ cup of dried figs, diced
2 tsp of yeast
½ cup of lukewarm water
1 tbsp of coconut oil (or olive oil)
½ tsp of salt

Directions:
Dissolve yeast in water and let it activate for 10 minutes.

IMG_4642

In another bowl, mix flour with ground almonds and salt.

IMG_4643
Transfer into yeast and knead. Add figs and knead for a few more minutes.

IMG_4644
Then cover and let rise for 2 hours.

IMG_4649
Knead the dough more and shape into two small loaves. Cover and let rise for another hour.

IMG_4651Bake in a preheated over on 180 C (350 F) for about 30 minutes.
I don’t ever want to buy bread again unless it is chestnut bread from the Farmers’ Market.

IMG_4652

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

