Till I see you

Why does a loving God allow evil? We often ask this question when innocent people perish in the hands of evil people.

The recent news of two Christian Kachin volunteer teachers left me in complete and utter shock. The girls were in the 20s, young and beautiful. They were serving at the church to provide education to locals. But the Burmese army tortured and gang-raped them before brutally killing them.
I don’t know the girls but my heart aches for them. With a heavy heart, I turned to the Lord and asked why.

The other day with my life group, we read Romans chapter 13. Romans 13:1-7 talks about submission to governing authorities. Of course my first response was, “Really God? I don’t like the government. How can I submit to the governing authorities?” That discussion led me to read
1Timothy 2:1-2 Pray for kings and all who are in authority.
Agggggghhhhhhh …my rebellious heart doesn’t want to pray for the authorities except saying, “God, please punish them for their evilness.”

Today as I was reading the Bible, I came across this scripture from Ephesians 6:12.
12 For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms.

We are fighting the spiritual war. Satan is the enemy of God and he wants God’s children to doubt God for His goodness.
May God open our eyes and hearts to understand the spiritual war. May I never doubt God’s goodness but obey His word although I don’t understand completely.

There are many things I don’t know and don’t understand. But one thing I know….the final victory belongs to Jesus!
Revelation 17:14 They will make war against the Lamb, but the Lamb will overcome them because he is Lord of lords and King of kings -and with him will be his called, chosen and faithful followers.

So God…
“Till I see you face to face
And grace amazing takes me home
I’ll trust in you.” ~ from Till I see you by Hillsong

IMG_4657

This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

