Easy Peasy Homemade Yogurt: Making yogurt without a yogurt maker

I’ve been making my own yogurt for a while now and I don’t think I’ll ever go back of buying yogurt from a store. It’s very simple and you don’t need a fancy yogurt maker nor a crockpot. 

Here’s how you do it.

1. Heat milk (1 liter) until it begins to form a skin on top.



(This is totally optional. I like to make vanilla bean yogurt. So if using vanilla bean, split lengthwise, scrape out seeds and put them in milk and bring to a boil.)



2. Pour the hot milk straight into the sterilized jars or bowl you want to use. I use either glass jars or ceramic bowls with lid. I’m not sure whether you can use plastic containers but I just don’t like the idea of plastic containers.



3. Let milk cool until you can dip your finger. (I don’t use thermometer.) Now it’s time to add starter. Put 3-4 tablespoons of plain yogurt (live and active culture yogurt) and stir the yogurt gently into the milk.



4. Put the lid and put the bowl into a bigger bowl. Fill the bigger bowl with boiling water until the water reaches to the level of the milk in the ceramic bowl. Leave it on the counter or in the sink for 8-12 hours. I usually make yogurt after dinner around 7:00 p.m. And I change the hot water before going to bed. When I wake up next morning, it is ready.



The finished yogurt will have whey on top. I put the bowl in the fridge for a few hours and it helps the yogurt to firm up.

It is so easy to make it, isn’t it? I use low-fat milk and the finished yogurt is still thick and creamy. I like it plain but you can add honey, maple syrup, or fresh fruit.

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

