Teach us to number our days

I usually wonder why people stop to look at traffic accidents. But I am no exception because last week I witnessed an accident close enough to see an intense image that all I could do was to stop and pray for the person.

The accident took place at the Asoke intersection in Bangkok at a peak traffic hour and I happened to be walking on the Asoke Intersection Sky Walk. Two cars and a motorcycle taxi driver were involved and not sure what happened to people on the cars, but the motorcycle guy was lying face down and his shoes and his motorcycle were a few feet away from him. At first glance there was no way he would survive but I started praying for him for a miracle. I don’t know him but I wanted him to survive.

A few minutes later, the ambulances arrived to the scene and the paramedics started performing CPR. I was so glad to see that he was still alive and I continued to pray for him. The paramedic team finally put him on the ambulance 10-15 minutes later. I don’t know what happened to him but I could only pray that he would be ok.

The same week during a weekly chapel at my school, I answered this question. “What would you do if you have only 24 hours to live?” IF I know I only have 24 hours to live, I “think” I would be ok because I could sort things out and hopefully make things right (may be) before I die. 

But the problem is most of us don’t know when exactly we would take off from this life. Death can happen to anyone, anywhere, and at any time. 

After seeing the above accident, I thought about Psalm 90:12 “Teach us to number our days that we may apply our hearts into wisdom.” Moses wrote Psalm 90 possibly in the desert. I don’t know about you but if I were in Moses’ situation in the desert with the complaining Israelites, that would be the least thing I want to pray. Teach us to number our days that we may apply our hearts into wisdom? 

 Most of the time I live my life as if I will never die. I make plans for future as if everything is in my hands. I live life as if I have time to sort things out later and wishing things will be solved on their own.

This week I was reminded that our days are numbered and death could happen to anyone, anywhere, and anyhow. Two questions I asked myself as I ponder today. Am I ready to die? Am I ready to face the death of my loved ones?

This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

