We are all broken.

I have to admit that I am a judgmental person. I may not judge people in public, but I do judge a lot in my mind. If only people can read my thoughts, they will be surprised to see a very different side of me. Of course, I can’t hide that side of me from God; He knows my every thought.

Although I received God’s grace, love, and mercy, I am yet to learn how to share God’s love and live a life worthy of His calling.
Just like other Christians, I have my own struggle… I have a hard time loving others.”Love your neighbor as yourself” is the hardest scripture to follow. I don’t even like some of my neighbors; let alone loving them as myself. Born and raised in an upper middle class Buddhist-Burmese (half Chinese) family in the capital of Burma, I knew nothing about the struggles and hardships of other ethnic groups. After all, I belong to the most privileged group in my country and I had that “who cares” attitude towards other ethnic groups.

Just like I belong to the most privileged group in my country, I also belong to the most privileged group in Christian community. My struggle is something most Christians think it is “ok” since we are all sinners, but other struggles such as homosexuality are totally unacceptable.

I used to think transgender or homosexual people are weird. I was even annoyed with Christians embracing LGBT community into church. Recently, Bruce Jenner came out as a transgender and I was quite disappointed. Is it another drama the Kardashians create to keep them under a spotlight? But his interview with Diane Sawyer made me realized that transgender and homosexual people go through internal struggles which I will never understand. I don’t grow up wanting to be a man or having crushes on another woman. So I don’t understand the struggle they are going through. Just because I don’t have those struggles doesn’t mean that I am holier than those who are going through those struggles. After all who am I to judge them.

The Bible clearly says that homosexuality is sin in 1 Corinthians 6:9. However, it’s also time for me to stop looking down on them as if they live a sinful life. I struggle with my own sinful nature and God is telling me that sin is sin no matter what; so stop judging others. It’s up to God to convict them.

We are all broken in different ways. Some of us will go through tragedies in life. Some people go through struggles no one else seem to understand. No one is perfect. We are all broken so instead of judging others, come to Jesus. Instead of being angry with God for tragedies in life, come to Jesus.

Let me end this blog with John 16:33. “In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.”

This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

