A glimpse of Korea

I’m impulsive at times. One morning I had an urge to visit my friends in the U.S. and 2 days later, I bought air tickets without the visa. Not a smart move. But to make a long story short, I got my US visa on the 27th of May and I left on the evening of June 5th.

When I first bought the ticket, I had no choice but to take this ticket which had 9 hours layover time in Incheon Airport, Korea. But it was a delight for me to find out that I could do a free transit tour in Korea. I have never been to Korea before so I was looking forward to take an advantage of the free transit tour. I landed 6 in the morning and went straight to an information desk for the transit tour.

If you want to know more about transit tours in Incheon Airport, visit the website here.

The first tour I did was an hour tour to Yonggungsa Temple. It took about 20 minutes to drive to the temple and 20 minutes back. So we only spent about 10 minutes at the temple. It is a small temple; so 10 minutes is all you need to spend time at the temple. If you are really tired, it’s better to take a rest at the airport. But if you are desperate like me to get out of the airport, even an hour tour is worth it.

    The tour ended sharp at 8:00 A.M and the tour guide took me to the next tour: 5 hours Seoul City tour. For this one, you’ll have to pay US$10 for lunch. It took about an hour from Incheon Airport to Seoul. We got to Gyeongbok palace around 9 and left from the palace around 10:40.                 From the palace, we went to a small Buddhist temple called Jogyesa temple. After the temple, we had lunch at Insadong Street.

Then we went to have lunch. It was a good deal to have beef bulgogi for US$ 10.

 I have been to Incheon Airport before but it was my first time using their services. Incheon Airport is one of the best airports in the world. According to Wikipedia, it has been rated the best airport worldwide since 2005.  It is also rated as the world’s cleanest airport and the world’s best international transit airport.

They have free shower room, rest area, and wifi. I can’t complain my 9 hours layover in Incheon Airport.

     It was a pleasant 9 hours in Korea that it definitely made me want to visit Korea and explore more. May be that is the whole purpose of the free transit tour that after having a glimpse of Korea, I now want more of Korea.

This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

