Kale and Swiss Cheese Savory Bread

    
What do you do when you are stressed? For me cooking and baking are therapeutic and help me to relax. 

I got some kale this week and had enough of kale salad. So I was thinking of something different to make with kale. Last night for my therapy, I made kale bread and absolutely loved it.

I found this recipe on Pinterest but I adjusted it according to what I have in my pantry. When I looked at the original recipe, I didn’t have Parmesan, prosciutto, applesauce, dried basil, nor Greek yogurt. But I decided to make it any way without those ingredients. Instead of Parmesan, I used Swiss cheese. I put plain yogurt instead of using Greek yogurt. And I just skipped prosciutto and applesauce.

Ingredients 

3 cups of chopped kale 

2 cups of flour (I used bread flour)

2 tsp of baking powder 

1/2 tsp of baking soda 

1/2 tsp of salt 

1 tsp of dried oregano 

2 eggs

3/4 cup of plain yogurt 

2 tbsp milk

1/2 cup of shredded Swiss Cheese

Instructions 

1. Preheat oven to 350 F. In a pan, sauté kale with a little bit of oil for 5 minutes or until softened.

2. In a bowl, add flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and oregano and stir together.

3. In a mixer bowl, add eggs and yogurt and mix well. Add flour mixture.

4. Fold in kale and Swiss cheese. Batter will be very thick. Pour the batter into a grease pan and bake for about 50 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean when stuck in the middle.

So easy and yummy!

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

