Singapore: “The view’s a whole lot better second time around.”

“The view’s a whole lot better second time around.”The lyrics from Elton John’s song popped up in my head as I was about to board my flight back to Bangkok after my 3 nights trip to Singapore. 

For a long time, for various reasons, it just didn’t catch my attention to visit Singapore. It has been named the world’s most expensive city to live for the third year in a row. 

In my mind, day-to-day life in Singapore is strictly governed by a series of rules with limited freedom of speech. 

 In 2013, I went to Singapore for the first time for a conference for 2 days and what I saw was those law abiding citizens acting like robots. I felt like the clean and well-ordered city was a little too much for me. (I like to believe I’m a creative kind of messy person.) And I don’t like following nonsense rules. For example, no chewing gum rule is just ridiculous. For a person who lives in Bangkok, I couldn’t help but compared of how much I would pay in Bangkok and everything was way too expensive for me. I am the big fan of the hot, sour, sweet, and salty Thai food and Singaporean food tasted so bland for my taste buds. However, I enjoyed the conference and a reunion with my best friends from high school whom I haven’t seen for 10 years.
Recently, I talked to my best friend who casually asked when would be my next visit. Without thinking I replied, “soon”. Being an impulsive person, I bought the air ticket right away. Then I asked myself, “What will I do in Singapore?” I tried to convince myself that the main reason was to see my best friend and if nothing else to do, just read a book and rest.
Then I relied on Google for things to do in Singapore. Not Universal Studios, not Sentosa Island, not Marina Bay Sands…. I want to do something different from what most people do.

I arrived to Singapore on a Friday evening and took a train from the airport to meet up with my friend. My first impression was that it was very convenient and easy to take MRT. The first place I visited on Saturday morning was to Singapore Botanic Garden. The 156-year-old tropical garden, the only tropical garden to be honored as UNESCO World Heritage Site totally caught my attention as I wandered around the Healing garden and Ginger garden for over two hours.


Another sweet surprise was that my friend told me there’s Naughty Nuri’s in Singapore. If you have been to Bali, you might be familiar with Naughty Nuri’s. It is famous for its killer ribs and they are to die for. The ribs I had in Naughty Nuri’s Singapore was not as good as the one in Seminyak beach in Bali but still great. To be continued 

This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

