Unwanted gift 

People like receiving gifts in general. But people don’t necessarily like the gifts they receive and they also react differently.A couple of weeks ago, I received an ukulele as a gift from a brother in Christ. I like the gift I received so much. But more than the gift I was so appreciative that someone I consider as my own little brother thought carefully about the gift that I would really like. A few months ago, I was telling him that I was planning to learn ukulele but since then I didn’t mention anything at all to him. It was like you still remembered our conversation. This is an example of receiving a gift I love from someone I love.

Many years back, my dad gave me a digital clock as a gift. I wasn’t thrilled to receive a clock but I knew that it would be useful so I used it for many years until it stoppped working. But the clock was from my dad and I’ve been using it for many years that I’ve attached to the clock. But I love the giver of the gift that I keep the clock although it is not longer useful anymore.

But there are many gifts I received that I don’t necessarily find the gifts useful and I also don’t have a personal relationship with the giver of the gifts that I don’t feel like keeping them. When I find someone who would use them, I give them. Sometimes, I have to throw them away because so many junks are accumulating in my room. 

God is the giver of good gifts. In Matthew 7:11,it says, “So if you sinful people know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your heavenly Father give good gifts to those who ask him.” It is His nature of God that He gives good gifts to his children. Based on Matthew 19:11, Jesus was saying that singleness is a gift and Apostle Paul mentioned again in 1 Corithians 7:6-9 that singleness is a gift to some people. 

This gift is something I received until now and I am not thrilled about it. If I have a choice, I would give it back to God gladly. But I trust the giver of this gift that He is a good good father and by His nature, He does what is best for us, not what is easiest for us. And His plans are better than mine. God knows what He is doing. So although I wasn’t thrilled to receive and I have no other choice so I started using this gift by actively involving in different activites. I am surprised that I found myself saying to a friend a few days ago that “I am starting to believe that singleness is a gift.” I like it I can actively involve in different ministries at church without any distractions and without asking permission from any one else. I can also travel to many places with my single friends and live a carefree life. 

Ecclesiastes 3:1 says, “There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under heaven.” Whether singleness is a season or for life, it surely is a gift. Trust the giver of the gift and believe that He only gives the good gift for His children. I am using the gift wisely for His kingdom and learning to be thankful everyday for His gift. 

This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Unwanted gift 

  1. Zarn Zarn…I was blessed by this today! Thank you for being so real in sharing your heart. I’ve been thinking a lot about God’s gifts too, and how important it is for us to humbly receive whatever it is He’s holding out to us! Love you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • lwinzarni says:

      Hey Holly!!! Yeah I had many conversations about being single lately so I had to write about it that God knows what He is doing.

      Like

  2. I had a massive revelation on the Corinthians passage on singleness… because let’s be real, most people don’t feel like singleness is a gift and want to give it back. In context, Paul is talking about gifts God gives for the sake of edifying the church. As a Christian my first priority is God’s kingdom and if my singleness can be used for God’s glory and to build His kingdom, it’s a good enough gift for me. I don’t know if others find this thought helpful, but it helps me to appreciate my singleness when I’m less egocentric and more Christcentric about it!
    Thank you for the encouraging post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

